Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Extra Ballot Unit for Five Seats

The New Indian Express (Bhubaneswar), Match 25, 2014
Five Assembly constituencies, which go to polls on April 10, will have an extra ballot unit (BU) in each of their polling stations.
The five constituencies include Narla, Dharmagarh, Bhawanipatna under Kalahandi Parliament seat, Kantabanjhi in Balangir and Biramitrapur in Sundargarh.
With each of these five constituencies receiving nominations from 16 candidates and more, the State Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) has to arrange an extra ballot unit for the polling stations.
Originally, each BU of the electronic voting machine (EVM) has buttons for 16 candidates. This time, None Of The Above (NOTA) option has taken one button leaving space for 15 candidates. An EVM has two constituents - a ballot unit and a control unit.

No comments: