Friday, September 12, 2014

Civic poll process begins at 9 places

Times of India, Sept 12, 2014

BHUBANESWAR: The state election commission (SEC) has started process for conducting civic polls in Paradip, Sunabeda and Belpahar municipalities and Balimela and Rairakhol notified area councils (NACs).

According to an official release issued here on Thursday, the existing councils of the five civic bodies would dissolve in April, 2015.

The SEC has also decided to conduct the urban polls in four newly-created NACs like Ranpur and Daspalla in Nayagarh district, Dharmagarh in Kalahandi district and Tusura in Balangir district.

The ward delimitation process for Dharmagarh and Ranpur NACs has been completed. The poll watchdog in the state wrote to the housing and urban development department to complete the delimitation process of the remaining NACs and finalize the reservation list, the release noted.

Meanwhile, the SEC announced to conduct byelection to 18 gram panchayats in 12 districts on September 16. The results would be announced on the following day.

No comments: