Monday, August 17, 2015

Patriotic Fervour Marks I-Day Celebration

The New Indian Express, Aug 17, 2015
ROURKELA: Patriotic fervour marked the 69th Independence Day celebration by various Government and non-Government organisations in Sundargarh district on Saturday.
At Uditnagar parade ground of Rourkela city, Revenue Divisional Commissioner (North) NBS Rajput hoisted the Tricolour. As many as 70 contingents of OSAP, APR, Civil Defence, NCC, Scout and Guide, Red Cross and civilian troops participated in the parade.
Among others, IGP (WR) RK Sharma, Rourkela ADM K Sudershan Chakravorty and Rourkela SP Anirudh Singh were present.
After hoisting the National Flag at the district headquarters town Sundargarh, Collector Bhupendra Singh Poonia called for concerted efforts to fight against poverty, illiteracy, inequality and superstitions in the society. Around 32 contingents participated in the march past.
The celebration by Rourkela Steel Plant (RSP) at Ispat Stadium was marked by patriotic fervour and pageantry. RSP CEO GS Prasad unfurled the Tricolour, inspected the parade and took the salute at an impressive march past by 84 contingents.
Prasad exhorted all to take pledge to work towards making Rourkela a dream destination for all and to contribute towards the growth of the State and nation.
Bhawanipatna: Commerce and Transport Minister Ramesh Chandra Majhi hoisted the National Flag at Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium here on the occasion of Independence Day. Addressing the gathering, Majhi recalled the sacrifices of tribal freedom fighters including martyr Rindo Majhi of Kalahandi who sacrificed his life in 1855. “We have to go a long way to fulfil the dreams of our freedom fighters and meet the aspirations of people.” 
The Minister also distributed awards to winners of ceremonial parade and students securing highest marks in different examinations in the district.
Jharsuguda: The Independence Day was celebrated all over the district with patriotic fervour. At a function organised at Manmohan School Ground, Minister of State for Textiles, Handloom and Handicrafts Snehangini Churia hoisted the Tricolour and took the guard of honour in presence of Collector Parmeshwaran B and SP Umashankar Dash.
The toppers of Class X and Plus II of the district were awarded. Five schools were also felicitated with Prakruti Mitra award for outstanding contribution in plantation. A blood donation camp was also organised on the occasion. The Day was also celebrated on Ib Thermal Power Station, TRL Krosaki and Vedanta premises.
Nayagarh: Tourism and Culture Minister Ashok Chandra Panda called upon the people to work hard and contribute towards the growth of the country here on Saturday on the occasion of Independence Day.
The Minister took the guard of honour in a colourful march past by 48 contingents comprising police, Homeguards, NCC and students of schools and colleges. Collector HK Padhi, SP Manoranjan Mohanty and DIPRO Pramod Kumar Nayak were present.
Panda also felicitated the freedom fighters of the district. Blood donation camps were organised by Rotary Club of Nayagarh.
Paradip: The Independence Day was celebrated at Paradip Refinery Project with Executive Director Ramjee Ram unfurling the National Flag at Refinery Sports Complex.  He also inspected the parade by CISF, DGR Security and students of Delhi Public School.
On the occasion, Pratibha Samman and Samuhik Upalabdhi Puraskar were given. Scholarships were awarded to 41 students of 13 schools under six panchayats. CISF contingent of Paradip Refinery presented a demonstration on weapons, security procedures and practices.
Jagatsinghpur: Revenue and Disaster Management Minister Bijayshree Routray unfurled the National Flag in the town and spoke on the contributions of freedom fighters like Nabakrushna Chaudhury, Gopabandhu Das, Malati Chaudhury and Rama Devi. He also highlighted welfare schemes of the State Government for the poor and weaker sections of the society.
Around 30 contingents participated in parade and students of different schools performed cultural shows on the occasion. Collector Bijay Ketan Upadhyaya, SP Sudha Singh, ADM Saran Kumar Jena and Sub Collector Narahari Sethi were present.
Koraput: Despite Maoist threat, the Independence Day was celebrated in the district with Energy Minister Pranab Prakash Das hoisting the Tricolour at Koraput Police Ground. Over 500 participants of different educational institutions joined the parade. Collector VJ Kumar and SP CS Meena were present.
At Jeypore, Sub-Collector Puma Tudu hoisted the National Flag and took the guard of honour.
The day was also celebrated in Narayanpatana, Bandhugam, Laxmipur, Boipariguda, Nandapur, Semiliguda, Potangi and Lamataput blocks where the Maoists had called for boycott of Independence Day celebration.
Dhenkanal: In his Independence Day speech here, Health and Family Welfare Minister Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak highlighted development schemes and welfare programmes of the State Government.
He unfurled the National Flag at Main Stadium. Collector Roopa Roshan Sahoo and SP Nikhil Kumar Kanodia were present.  
Sambalpur: Inauguration of electronic surveillance system for monitoring operations marked the celebration of Independence Day at Mahanadi Coalfields Limited (MCL) headquarters here on Saturday. The surveillance system was inaugurated by CMD of MCL AN Sahay after the colourful parade.
Chief Vigilance Officer Deepak Srivastava briefed about the operations of e-surveillance system. Director (Technical/Operations) AK Tiwari, Director (Technical/Projects and Planning) JP Singh and Director (Finance) KK Parida were present.

No comments: